New Immigration-related Presidential Proclamation

On Sunday, September 24th, 2017, the White House and President Donald Trump announced enhanced national security measures and issued a Presidential Proclamation announcing new restrictions on travel to the United States by certain foreign nationals from Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen; Sudan is not covered by the Proclamation.  Citizens of Iraq and some groups of individuals from Venezuela will face restrictions and/or heightened scrutiny when applying for U.S. entry visas. The restrictions set forth in the Proclamation vary by country.

For more information about the new travel ban, please refer to the FAQs from the White House and those posted by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. According to these sources, the “Proclamation does not apply to any lawful permanent resident of the United States,” nor individuals who have valid visas on the effective date of the ban.

OIA will continue to provide assistance to students and scholars/employees affected by the Proclamation.  OIA recommends that students and scholars/employees from these countries who have upcoming international travel plans should contact their OIA adviser or an immigration attorney before leaving the United States.

OIA will continue to monitor these developments as well as legal developments concerning immigration-related Executive Orders and post further updates as they become available.